Dave Koz & Friends 2010 Smooth Jazz Christmas In Columbus

The Dave Koz & Friends 2010 Smooth Jazz Christmas tour will be extra-special this year as South African singer/guitarist Jonathan Butler, keyboardist Brian Culbertson, and Dutch saxophone star Candy Dulfer join the multi-GRAMMY® nominee and saxophonist extraordinaire in celebrating the joys of the season. This is Dulfer’s first tour with Koz, while favorites Butler and Culbertson are back by popular demand. The tour has become a cherished tradition for fans, and 2010 marks its 13th anniversary. The foursome will perform hits from their respective catalogues and join together on a variety of holiday standards for a high-energy, soul-inspiring show the whole family will love.

CAPA presents Dave Koz & Friends – A Smooth Jazz Christmas 2010 at the Palace Theatre (34 W. Broad St.) on Sunday, December 5, at 7 pm. Tickets are $27.50-$62.50 at the Ohio Theatre Ticket Office (39 E. State St.), all Ticketmaster outlets, and www.ticketmaster.com. To purchase tickets by phone, please call (614) 469-0939 or (800) 745-3000. The Palace Theatre Ticket Office will open two hours prior to the performance. Students between the ages of 13-19 may purchase $5 High Five tickets while available. This performance is made possible through the generous support of Univar.

In a career that spans 20 years and a dozen albums, saxophonist Dave Koz has established himself as one of the most prominent figures in contemporary music. But as noteworthy as his body of recorded work is and as entertaining as his live performances are, Koz finds himself in an era of dramatic and sweeping change where everything once taken for granted is suddenly up for grabs. For Koz, and for all of us in this first decade of the new century, it’s a new day, full of new challenges and opportunities, and new rules that are still being written.

Koz embraces this era of change, and even the uncertainty that comes with it, on Hello Tomorrow, his debut on Concord Records released October 12, 2010. Produced by Grammy winners John Burk and Marcus Miller (who also appears on most tracks), the album features a diverse army of high-profile guests—Herb Alpert, Jonathan Butler, Brian Culbertson, Sheila E., Boney James, Jeff Lorber, Keb’ Mo’, Ray Parker, Jr., Lee Ritenour, Christian Scott, and others. Each of the 13 tracks—most of them written by Koz and his collaborators, others penned by friends and legends—focuses on being open to new beginnings, and trusting that the future is unfolding in all the right ways for all the right reasons.

Music—and more specifically, the saxophone—have been Koz’s primary survival tools since his childhood and adolescence in L.A.’s San Fernando Valley. He started playing as a means to land a spot in his brother’s band, but somewhere along the way, “the saxophone became my best friend, my most trusted ally, because it enabled me to communicate feelings that I didn’t have the words for. In many ways, it saved my life.”

After earning a degree in mass communications from UCLA, Koz took the leap into a career as a professional musician, a decision that immediately led to touring gigs with vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Bobby Caldwell, keyboardist Jeff Lorber, and pop singer Richard Marx. He signed with Capitol and released his self-titled solo debut in 1990. Noteworthy follow-ups included the gold certified Lucky Man (1993), Off the Beaten Path (1996) and three holiday albums—December Makes Me Feel This Way (1997), Dave Koz & Friends: A Smooth Jazz Christmas (2001), and Memories of a Winter’s Night (2007). The gold certified The Dance (1999) and Saxophonic (2003) each spawned five Top 5 hits on the contemporary jazz charts, and the latter album scored two Grammy nominations.

More: www.davekoz.com

Leave a Reply